ransomed from the house of slavery

29 July 2007

reflecting on micah 6 today.  a friend pointed out how amazing it is that israel stood as the accused defendant before god, who called the mountains as witnesses.  to make that personal, how better to be embarrassed now and repent from my sin, than to harbor it and have god contend with me later?

several weeks ago, i sat down and made a column of recent sin/sin patterns in my life on the left, and on the right, thought of how christ provides better than the sins to which i run for solace.  for instance, my constant desire for control (at any cost), compared to god’s sovereignty over all things at all times, for the good of his people and the glory of his son.  when i specifically acknowledged my sin to myself and to god, confession and repentence felt like blessings, because i immediately saw how christ covers those sins.  my desire is to turn from them, and now that i can remind myself what they are, instead of pretending they are not there, my relationship with god seems more open, even though i know he always sees all of me.

in light of that reflection, micah 6:4 was a welcomed thought – that because of christ, god has ransomed me from the house of slavery.

2 Responses to “ransomed from the house of slavery”

  1. Housie said

    I’ve been thinking lately on how it is my sin that is at the root of my problems and how it is my sin that I need to confess so I can change. I don’t think of myself as one who complains or places blame, but the truth is that I place blame on people, circumstances and vague ideas all the time. How ridiculous that God has done so much to save me from my sin, yet I try all the time to tell him I have no choice but to continue to do it.

    Thanks for the encouragement, Steven.

  2. that’s an excellent point, megan. it’s cool to see the lord has been showing you similar things in your life. being “vague” … DEFINITELY something i have to continue to tackle. clarity is so honest and refreshing.

Leave a comment